I’m a 55 year-old woman who lives, runs, bikes, and swims in Madison, Wisconsin.

I was never athletic growing up, spending more time on academics and computers than anything else.  I didn’t participate in any sports in high school or college, other than the mandatory P.E. classes (and I took bowling for that in high school!).  So it was as much a surprise to myself as to everyone else that in my mid-30’s I became a runner, then a triathlete & duathlete.

Not being active early in my life caused me to end up in my early 30’s quite overweight, and at my heaviest I weighed 230 pounds.  When I finally got serious about losing weight and combined eating better and exercising, I lost 85 pounds over two years and found I loved being active.

Now I spend much of my free time training and racing, and there is nothing more fun than going on a long bike ride or run with my friends.

For the first 30 years of my life was pretty much a geek. I was introduced to computers in Junior High, and found I had a knack for working with them. During the next few years I taught myself to program Basic and 6502 assembly language, and decided I wanted to write computer games when I grew up. I’ve worked in games for 25+ years, but I’m not sure if I’ve grown up :).

I went to college at the University of Texas at Austin. After graduating in 1988 with a Bachelor’s degree in Computer Science, I began writing commercial Macintosh games (Space Rogue, published by Origin Systems, was my first game). Over the years, I wrote quite a few Mac games (check my work page for a list).  I wrote iPhone apps and games for my company, Maverick Software for several years, and was the Principal iOS engineer at Fetch Rewards for 5 years, responsible for creating their iOS app. I’m now retired.

I met my spouse Suellen online in 1994, and we began to do our part to keep AT&T and American Airlines in business with a long distance relationship between Austin and Madison, Wisconsin. We were married in 1997, and Suellen moved to Austin.  Suellen is now retired from being a professor of Library & Information Science, after teaching online for several universities (Univ of Alabam, Univ of Rhode Island, and more!) over the last several years.

I have a grown step-son and step-daughter, Josh & Melanie, and two  granddaughters, Maeve & Ellowyn (both Josh’s daughters).